20 Cents

The Kwangung Provincial Bank, China


Obverse: Portrait of Dr. Sun Yat-sen at right
Reverse: Junks in harbor

The Kwangtung Provincial Bank (Chinese: 廣東省銀行) was a bank latterly based in Hong Kong, also known as the Provincial Bank of Kwangtung Province. The largest of the provincial banks, there were however a succession of at least seven distinct organizations trading as the Kwangtung Provincial Bank from 1904 through 1949, with Chinese operations suspended in 1950-51; absorbed into the People’s Bank of China following the establishment of the People’s Republic of China. The remainder of the bank continued in operation until 2001 when it was taken over by the Bank of China (Hong Kong).

The first known banknotes appeared in 1913-1922. Subsequent issues were dated 1923 and 1925 and were from the Central Bank of China. Then three separate issues, all dated 1931, appeared. Small change notes (like this one for 20 cents) appeared in 1934 & 1935, and larger notes between $1-10 were issued between 1935-1940. The bank was then taken over by the invading Japanese, and following its defeat in 1945 the bank was re-established and issued one final series in 1949 in denominations of 1, 5, 10 and 50 cents, and 1, 5, 10 and 100 Yuan.